Senior Orchestra Billboard

Suggested Recordings

Mahler: Symphony No. 1

Abbado was one of THE great Mahler conductors of the 20th century

Strauss: Don Quixote

The classic recording of Rostropovich and Karajan. Of course, this is in reality a cello concerto, so opinions will vary. Definitely one of the finest performances by two of the century’s titanic figures.

Bernstein: On the Waterfront

This is the ONLY recording (by Bernstein himself) that everyone should refer to……

Ravel: La Valse

Again, a fine Leonard Bernstein interpretation.

Chabrier: España

Wonderful live performance of España from the BBC Proms, with Leonard Slatkin conducting.

Prokofiev: Lieutenant Kije Suite

A good way to get to know some of these pieces is to actually watch the music go by on a score as you listen….Try it with the Prokofiev!

Rachmaninov: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini

What a tremendous piece of music THIS is! Can’t wait to work on this one with you guys!

Dvořák: Cello Concerto

There are MANY videos available out there for this popular work. Here is just one of many possibilities.

Gordeli: Flute Concertino

A fine performance!

Kabalevsky: Colas Breugnon Overture

Fabulous recording with the Chicago Symphony and Fritz Reiner conducting. IT IS FAST!

SHOP AMAZON

More Information

SCRIP TIP

More Information

VP COORDINATORS

Lisa Lau
Lisa_Lau@sbcglobal.net

Debbie Gravitz
DGravitz@gmail.com

Kristie Kim
KristieChae@gmail.com

Xiaolei Kerr
xlkerr@me.com

Louise Tsoi
louise_tsoi@yahoo.com

ADMINISTRATION

Executive Director
Jim Hogan
Jim@cys.org

Orchestra Manager
Carmina Eylar
Carmina@cys.org

Office Managers
Mrs. Pang (Mgr.)
MrsPang@cys.org

Judy Chan (Asst. Mgr.)
Judy@cys.org

MUSIC DIRECTOR

Leo Eylar
Leo@cys.org

Recent Performance Photos